Professional Awards

The 2010 IEEE International Power Modulator and High Voltage Conference has three professional awards: The Kenneth J. Germeshausen Award, The William G. Dunbar Award, and The Sol Schneider Award.

The nomination package for all three awards includes:

A letter of nomination and a description of the nominee's accomplishments, current curriculum vitae, and at least two letters of reference from colleagues who are familiar with the nominee's accomplishments and contributions.

Award recipients will receive a plaque stating the award, a monetary award of $1,000, and recognition at the conference banquet.

Please submit nomination packages no later than March 19, 2012, to the Professional Awards Chair, Dr. Steve Calico at

The Kenneth J. Germeshausen Award:

The Germeshausen Award was established in 1990, at the 19th Power Modulator Symposium. It is named after Kenneth J. Germeshausen, in honor of his pioneering work on power modulators for radar, and for innovation leading to high voltage thyratrons, and for his technical leadership in the field of power modulator technology. The award recognizes outstanding contributions in the science and technology of power modulators and related repetitive pulse power.á

Previous Recipients:

2012 Werner Hartmann, Siemens AG Corporate Technology, Erlangen, Germany
2010 Richard L. Cassel, Stangenes Industries, Palo Alto, CA, USA
2008 Hidenori Akiyama, Kumamoto University, Kumamoto, Japan
2006 William C. Nunnally, University of Missouri, Columbia, MO, USA
2004 Klaus Frank, University of Erlangen, N├╝renberg, Germany
2004 Nicholas Reinhardt, Diversity Technologies, Inc., Medford, MA, USA
2002 Ken Witham, Siemens Medical Solutions, Inc., Concord, CA, USA
2002 James O'Loughlin, Air Force Research Laboratory, Kirtland AFB, Albuquerque, NM, USA

The William G. Dunbar Award:

The William G. Dunbar Award was first established at the 1982 High Voltage Workshop as the "High Voltage Award", and was renamed in 2002 to commemorate William G. Dunbar's lifetime of contributions to high voltage technology and his leadership in the High Voltage Workshops. The Dunbar Award is intended to recognize individuals for continuing contributions to high voltage research, development, or testing technology and for transferring that technology to the engineering and scientific community.

Previous Recipients:

2012 Tangali Sudarshan, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC, USA
2010 Andreas Neuber, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX, USA
2008 Stuart Moran, Naval Surface Weapons Center, Dahlgren, VA, USA
2006 Art Brockschmidt, The Boeing Company, Seattle, WA, USA
2004 Dan M. Goebel, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, CA, USA
2004 Walter J. (Jim) Sargent, University of Buffalo, Buffalo, NY, USA
2002 Lawrence Walko, AF Research Laboratory, Wright-Patterson AFB, Dayton, OH, USA
2002 Carl I. Belnap, Design Criteria, Inc., Hudson, NH, USA

The Sol Schneider Award:

The Sol Schneider Award was established in 2004 as the Conference Service Award to recognize extensive service, contributions, and leadership, both technically and administratively, in the power modulator and/or high voltage field. The award recognizes both continuing contributions to research, development, and test technology, as well as the dedication to the advancement of the field through fostering the power modulator and high voltage community.

Previous Recipients:

2012 Robert Barker, Air Force Office of Scientific Research, Arlington, VA, USA
2010 Hulya Kirkici, Auburn University, Auburn, AL, USA
2010 Martin Gundersen, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, USA
2008 Daniel L. Schweickart, AF Research Laboratory, Wright-Patterson AFB, Dayton, OH, USA
2006 A. Scott Gilmour, Jr., Emeritus Professor, University of Buffalo, Buffalo, NY, USA
2004 Sol Schneider, Consultant, Red Bank, NJ, USA